Iron City Rocks

The Best Rock, Metal and Blues Podcast on the Net

DVD Review: The Rolling Stones – Bridges to Bremen

The Stones seem to be releasing an endless stream of concerts from their catalog and frankly we say “keep them coming”. Keith, Mick and the boys rolled into Bremen, Germany in September of 1998 for a huge stadium show on their Bridges to Babylon tour. For almost exactly 2 and 1/2 hours you got what you needed (sorry for the pun). The show opened with Mick in bright yellow scarf and the duo of Keith and Ronnie both with tele’s and dark shades. The stage was enormous. Oddly Charlie looked like he is dressed to go to the grocery store. “Let’s Spend The Night Together” featured Chuck Levell with the famous piano riff and he takes the band into the song which had a very cool, stripped-down arrangement. “Flip The Switch” was the lead track from the underrated Bridges to Babylon album. Mick then lost leather jacket and scarf and was down to a canary yellow button-down. The song had a great “twangy” ending with Keith even doing a bit of tapping believe it or not. On “Gimme Shelter” Keith playing the haunting intro on a Gibson 335 while Lisa Fischer blended a soulful voice. Next was “Anybody Seen My Baby?” featuring Darryl Jones laying down a THICK bass groove. Keith had a rare Suhr guitar. The song was second track on Bridges which Mick and Keith co-wrote with K.D. Lang and Ben Mink. Bernard Fowler joined Mick on lead vocals. Always a classic “Paint It Black” followed with chugging guitar on a very intense rendition. “Saint Of Me”, a single from Bridges to Babylon, followed with Mick on acoustic. This one could easily still work in their set list. Mick had the audience singing wonderfully. Another rare treat was “Out Of Control” from Bridges to Babylon. The fans voted “Memory Motel” from Black and Blue album into the set. Mick then picked up a strat for “Miss You” which also had Mick licking Lisa’s foot, Keith stopping to have a cigarette, and Bobby Keys on a killer sax solo. “Thief In The Night” from Bridges to Babylon featured Keith on vocals. Leah Wood (Ronnie’s daughter) helped sing as well. Then from Undercover Keith sang “Wanna Hold You”. Then band then really hit its stride with “Its Only Rock ‘n’ Roll (But I Like It)” on a smaller stage in the audience. Keith’s solo was very much in the vein of Chuck Berry. The relatively newer “You Got Me Rocking” from Voodoo Lounge fit in well. Ronnie on a resonator gave it fun twist. The highlight in my opinion of the show came in the form of the Bob Dylan classic “Like A Rolling Stone”. The band crossed back to the main stage during an extended intro to “Sympathy For The Devil”. Then they hit the classics “Tumbling Dice” and “Honky Tonk Women”. Keith started it out so cool squatting with the guitar in one hand plucking out an open g-chord. Keith joined Chuck with a cool piano solo. As the crowd I’m sure thought there couldn’t be much more, Keith’s tele just sang so sweet the chords to “Start Me Up” followed by “Jumpin’ Jack Flash” where he ripping off a fiery solo. The encore was “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” and of course “Brown Sugar”. The band left it all on the stage. You could not find one issue with the setlist. The remastering was done quite well and the mix is very good. If you liked your 90’s stones, this is a can’t miss. Bridges to Bremen is available now. from Eagle Rock.

  1. I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction
  2. Let’s Spend The Night Together
  3. Flip The Switch
  4. Gimme Shelter
  5. Anybody Seen My Baby?
  6. Paint It Black
  7. Saint Of Me
  8. Out Of Control
  9. Memory Motel
  10. Miss You
  11. Thief In The Night
  12. Wanna Hold You
  13. Its Only Rock ‘n’ Roll (But I Like It)
  14. You Got Me Rocking
  15. Like A Rolling Stone
  16. Sympathy For The Devil
  17. Tumbling Dice
  18. Honky Tonk Women
  19. Start Me Up
  20. Jumpin’ Jack Flash
  21. You Can’t Always Get What You Want
  22. Brown Sugar

DVD/Blu-ray Bonus: Bridges to Chicago – Bonus Performances
1. Rock And A Hard Place
2. Under My Thumb
3. All About You
4. Let It Bleed