Iron City Rocks

The Best Rock, Metal and Blues Podcast on the Net

Review: Billy Idol – State Line

Watch out you just might learn something. By Billy Idol’s own admission he might have become a history teach if not a rock star. Billy introduces the film with a just a brief history of the Hoover Dam itself before he and long-time partner Steve Stevens play an acoustic set at the foot of the dam. This set included “Forgot to Be a Lover”, “Eyes Without a Face”, “Rebel Yell”. The full songs aren’t presented in the film but still a cool change to see an “unplugged” performance. For an unplugged set, Steve’s pedal board was enormous.

Before the main show the film takes you to a meet and greet with some fans in Las Vegas and you also get to see the band sound check. The full-band set is from a helipad overlooking the dam in front of a lucky crowd of 250 people. Billy normal band features Steve Stevens and Billy Morrison on guitars, Stephen McGrath on bass, Erik Eldenius on drums and Paul Trudeau on keyboards. For this show billy brought in two additional background singers (Kitten Kuroi and Maiya Shykes). They are also joined Tony Kanal of No Doubt, Alison Mosshard and Steve Jones from the Sex Pistols.

Set List (April 8, 2023):

  • Rock The Cradle of Love
  • Dancing With Myself (featuring Steve Jones and Tony Kanal)
  • Flesh For Fantasy
  • Cage
  • Bitter Pill
  • Eyes Without a Face
  • Mony Mony
  • To Be a Lover
  • John Wayne (featuring Alison Mosshart)
  • Running From the Ghost
  • One Hundred Punks
  • Blue Highway (featuring Steve Steven’s “Top Gun Anthem”)
  • Rebel Yell
  • Hot in the City
  • White Wedding

Billy Idol’s “State Line: Live at the Hoover Dam” debuts in the United States Wednesday, November 15. Tickets and information available at